peridot fern necklace

June 3, 2012 § 1 Comment

Peridot briolette gems twisted on silver wire on a silver chain with peridot rondelles and silver clasp. This is a design for my Etsy store, and it sold immediately so I’m making more. The wired fern method is something I came up with years ago when I was making headpieces for a living. Not having formal jewelry training back then made me pretty gonzo freestyle about the whole thing, and so I approached it from a sculptural point of view.

It started with wanting to add sparkle to my floral-based pieces. The whole totally impractical business plan for the headpiece company involved being a stickler about top quality, so I added actual faceted gemstones (like, carat weight) set in sterling and on sterling wire. Seriously, with metal market prices today you could sell one of my old tiaras for scrap and make back the cost!

So the wired gems started taking stylized shapes and the fern became a favorite. This necklace is a like a lone leaf from one of those headpieces, and is high on the fae and ladylike meter.

§ One Response to peridot fern necklace

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading peridot fern necklace at recent projects.

meta

